Kent Fountain has been re-elected as chairman of the National Cotton Council (NCC) for 2021 during the organisation's virtual annual meeting.

A member of the NCC's 2001-2002 Cotton Leadership Class, Fountain served as an NCC vice president from 2016-2018 and as an NCC director in 2011. A Surrency, Georgia, ginner, Fountain has served on multiple NCC committees, including chairing its Quality Task Force and served for ten years as a director of Cotton Council International, the NCC's export promotion arm.

Very active in the National Cotton Ginners Association, Fountain has held numerous leadership positions including serving as its president in 2012. He is a past president of the Southeastern Cotton Ginners Association and currently serves as a director for Staplcotn and the Cotton Growers Warehouse Association.

Ted Schneider, a Lake Providence, Louisiana, producer, was re-elected to the position of vice-chairman for 2021, while Jay Cowart, an Altus, Oklahoma, warehouser was elected as NCC vice president.

Re-elected as NCC vice presidents were: Jordan Lea, Robin Perkins, Kirk Gilkey, Kevin Brinkley, and Robert Lacy, Jr. Re-elected as secretary-treasurer is Barry Evans.