At the 41st Annual General Meeting (AGM), the BGMEA’s newly elected board of directors, led by president S. M. Mannan (Kochi), assumed leadership of the BGMEA for the 2024-2026 term, succeeding former president Faruque Hassan with responsibility.

BGMEA announced Sammilito Parishad, a panel of Bangladesh Garment Manufacturers and Exporters Association (BGMEA) registered members, led by Mannan, achieved a clean sweep by securing all 35 directorship positions in the recent BGMEA elections for the 2024-2026 term, encompassing 26 positions in Dhaka and nine in Chittagong.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

BGMEA’s new office bearers are:

  • Syed Nazrul Islam, first vice president
  • Khandoker Rafiqul Islam, senior vice president
  • Arshad Jamal (Dipu), vice president
  • Md. Nasir Uddin, vice president (finance)
  • Miran Ali, vice president
  • Abdullah Hil Rakib, vice president
  • Rakibul Alam Chowdhury, vice president

The Dhaka-based board of directors includes Shahidullah Azim, Asif Ashraf, Md. Imranur Rahman, Shovon Islam, Haroon Ar Rashid, Mohammad Sohel Sadat, Ashikur Rahman (Tuhin), Anowar Hossain (Manik), Mesbah Uddin Khan, Shams Mahmud, Rajiv Chowdhury, Abrar Hossain Sayem, Md. Shahadat Hossain, Md. Jakir Hossain, Nusrat Bari Asha, Md. Mohiuddin Rubel, Shehrin Salam Oishee, Md. Nurul Islam, Saifuddin Siddiquie Sagar, and Md. Rezaul Alam (Miru).

From Chattogram, the directors are Mohammed Musa, Amzad Hossain Chowdhury, M Ahsanul Hoque, Mostafa Sarwar Riyadh, Mohammed Rakib Al Naser, Gazi Md. Shahid Ullah, and Md. Absar Hossain.

BGMEA also announced the adoption of its audited accounts for the year 2022-2023 and approval of the budget for 2023-2024 during the AGM.

This announcement comes after the Forum Panel, which was a contender in the Bangladesh Garment Manufacturers and Exporters Association (BGMEA) biennial elections, pledged to make buyers more accountable, while its rival Sammilito Parishad was keen to diversify exports by encouraging the use of non-cotton fibres.