Each finalist for the 2022 International Woolmark Prize will receive a AUD60,000 (US$43,165) grant for the development of a Merino wool collection for autumn/winter 2022 highlighting transparency throughout their supply chain and, alongside partner Common Objective, will build a sustainability roadmap.

This year’s programme theme, Play, will be a true celebration of forward-thinking design and innovation, with participants invited to experiment with textiles, design and business practices to drive change and innovation for a brighter future.

They will be supported by the programme’s education and mentoring initiative, the Innovation Academy, which includes mentoring from industry leaders.

One finalist will be awarded the International Woolmark Prize and receive AUD200,000 to invest in the development of their business. The Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation will be awarded to another finalist, with the winner receiving AUD100,000. The Woolmark Supply Chain Award will also be presented, celebrating outstanding contribution from a trade partner driving wool supply chain innovation.

All finalists will have the opportunity to be stocked at some of the world’s leading stores, via the International Woolmark Prize Retailer Network.

“We’re thrilled to introduce the next generation of creative game-changers to take part in the 2022 rnational Woolmark Prize,” said The Woolmark Company CEO, John Roberts. “As the award continues to evolve, our aim is to support designers to think beyond today, highlighting the innovation, versatility and sustainability of Merino wool and showcase its basis for new technologies to meet the discerning needs of tomorrow’s customer.”

The 2022 International Woolmark Prize finalists are:

• Ahluwalia, United Kingdom
• EGONLAB, France
• Jordan Dalah, Australia
• MMUSOMAXWELL, South Africa
• Peter Do, USA
• Rui, China
• Saul Nash, United Kingdom

The winners will be selected by a panel of industry experts, to be announced, in April 2022.